Babcock’s contract for Fixed Wing Air Ambulance Services in Norway will start on 1 July 2019

Babcock Scandinavian AirAmbulance won the contract for Fixed Wing Air Ambulance Services in Norway in 2017 and will take over the service from 1 July 2019.

Air Ambulance Services of Norway made a wide range of specifications in the tender, stipulating minimum operating performances such as speed, range, size of cabin and abilities in the Arctic. They also specified that a jet would be required in the service.

Based on these requirements, Babcock contacted Textron and included one of their Citation Latitude jets in our winning solution. Additional to the Citation Latitide C680A jet, Babcock Scandinavian AirAmbulance will use 10 Beechcraft B250s to fulfil the obligations of the contract.

The Fixed Wing Air Ambulance Services in Norway is a six-year contract (with options for a further five years). The service will be operational 24/7/365 and operate from 7 bases across Norway, supporting around 9,000 patients a year.

All air ambulance operations in Norway are publicly funded and all medical personnel on board will be employed by the public health service. Air Ambulance Services of Norway is responsible for all air ambulance operations in Norway (fixed wing and rotary wing) and Babcock Scandinavian AirAmbulance will be a contractor to them.

The Citation Latitude will arrive in Norway this month. It will attend EBACE in Geneva 22-23 May.

Facts about the C680A Latitude jet

Crew: minimum 2 pilots and 1 flight nurse
Stretchers: 2
Seats in cabin ex stretchers: 4
Max altitude: 45,000ft (FL450)
Max range: 5,300km
Speed: 850km/t
Engine power: 2 x 5,900lbf
Max weight 13,970kg

Further information about Babcock’s aerial emergency medical service (EMS) operations

With over 35 years’ of experience in aerial EMS Babcock is trusted by its customers to deliver vital fixed and rotary wing EMS services. We deliver 73,000 EMS missions and fly 58,000 EMS flight hours each year.

Babcock has aerial EMS operations in nine countries: Australia, Finland, France, Italy, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the UK.